Makeup · Makeup Reviews

NYX Born To Glow Liquid Illuminator| Review

These days, I am sure the majority of us like to glow whether it’s a subtle; natural looking glow or intense glow that can be seen from miles.Β (yes! please..)

NYX Born To Glow Liquid Illuminator Sun Beam

As a highlighter junkie, I bought NYX Born to Glow Liquid Illuminator to try out and let me tell you *Spoiler Alert!* its gorgeous! I recently created a makeup looks using this. Click here to check out. This was also featured in my June Favorites.

16-07-21-14-35-38-902_deco

It comes in a squeezy tube which I find it practical, convenient and hygienic.

NYX Born To Glow Liquid Illuminator Review+swatch

The formula is okay. It’s light-weight and blends so easily and smoothly into the skin however it dries pretty fast so you have to work with it really fast. It doesn’t last so long either. It starts to fade after a couple of hours.

Sun BeamI got it in the shade “Sun Beam” which is a stunning light pink shimmery highlighter. My skin is kinda fair but it doesn’t look too pink on me. It just gives life to my face. If you have medium-dark skin, it might be too frosty and harsh on you but no worries.. NYX has got you covered! They have 3 more shades to choose from.

When you first swatch it or apply it, I hate to say this but you can see someΒ shimmers. However, as it blends into the skin, it seems to dissappear (in a good way) and it doesn’t look too shimmery or whatsoever and you can barely see them.

I wouldn’t say it’s so pigmented but you can definitely build it up to achieve the intensity to your liking. As for me, two layers of this is enough to give me that Jacklyn Hills or Nikkietutorials glow. If you apply it very lightly, you can definitely achieve a subtle glow that is appropriate for some occasions like work or school. So, it is perfect for us who like to glow 24/7. *Giggles*

Here is how it looks on me.

Sun Beam

You can check out my Instagram for more.

Pros:

  • Affordable ($7.5)
  • Easy to use
  • Blends seamlessly
  • Light-weight
  • a range of shades to choose from
  • Able to achieve both natural and intense glow
  • Build-able
  • Travel-friendly
  • Non sticky

Cons:

  • Not long-lasting
  • Dries pretty fast

My Verdict:

Although there are a few cons, the pros outweighs them and I really do enjoy it. For $7.5, it’s definitely worth it! This shade is particular is skeptical. All in all, I really love it, will repurchase it and highly recommend you guys to try it.

Sun Beam

Have you tried it? What’s your current favorite highlighter? Let me know in the comments section below because I love to chat.

Thank you so much for taking your time ❀ I really appreciate it. If you enjoyed it and found it helpful, don’t forget it hit thatΒ like button and follow my blog to not miss any future posts. xx

You can also follow me on InstagramΒ for sneak peaks or general updates from me.
Carrie's Beauty Pouch Logo

Hope you all are having an amazing day ❀

Disclaimer: The product mentioned was purchased with my own money. As always, the opinions expressed are all my 100% honest opinions.

10 thoughts on “NYX Born To Glow Liquid Illuminator| Review

  1. Have you tried mixing it in with foundation? I find that these kinds of liquid highlighters that aren’t too pigmented or don’t last that long on their own make foundations look super pretty and glowy when you mix them together! That’s how I tend to get use out of liquid highlighters that I don’t really like without wasting them πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. This looks gorgeous on you! I’m not a massive fan of liquid highlighters although I do have one from Seventeen Cosmetics that I sometimes use under my foundation if I’m feeling particularly glowy! My favourite highlighter is the Undress You Skin Highlighting Powder from MUA in the shade ‘Iridescent Gold’; it’s so pigmented, one quick sweep is enough to give a beautiful glow, and it’s only Β£3. Bargain! Fantastic review, my lovely x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

