Beauty Tips · Hair

7 Tricks to Prevent Oily Hair

We all have those bad hair days where we just want to rip our head off!! Whether you were born with oily scalp or you are in your between days, I have a good news for you.

oily hair hacks, greasy hair, tips/tricks

I was born with a naturally oily scalp so I am always aware of the greasiness in my scalp and strands however that is not the only problem. My ends are so dry and damaged due to several time dying, straightening and curling my hair ( A note to younger self). So, it’s really hard for me to take care of my hair.
However, for the past couple of months, I have been using these tricks to keep the oils at bay and try to make my hair looks as healthy as possible. These are all the tricks and tips that I have used and learnt from  my experiences and I’m sharing them with you guys.So, shall we begin?

1. Use a translucent powder

This trick works wonder especially when you are running late and are about to head the door. Apply it gently to your scalp and greasy strands and you are good to go. I find that using translucent powder gives the most natural looking result; meaning it won’t leave those white residues that dry shampoos would.

2. Use a hair essences instead of serum

This trick is for those of you who have oily scalp and dry ends like me. Hair essences are those that you use before blowing your hair dry. They aren’t heat protective oils or anything like that. They are still a part of hair care. For me, it’s the most important part of my hair care routine because ever since I started using them, I find my hair produces less oil while still looking healthy and soft. I usually like to concentrate more on the upper section of my hair (near the roots) because that where the oils are produced. So, I apply a generous amount of it and blow it dry and my hair feels so soft, smooth and healthy. Etude House’s Silk Scarf Hair Essence is my  life-saver. It’s one of my top 5 favorite products from Etude House.

3. Be wise with your serums/oils

I’m not saying you can’t use hair serums/ oils, they are one of the best options when it comes to repairing or providing moisture/oils to dry and damaged hair. You absolutely can however as stated in #2, it’s best not to use them for the entire hair. What I mean by that is to use Essences on the upper section/roots and strands while using serums for your ends. This will make sure that your ends get the most intensive treatment possible while preventing your scalp to create less oils since you are not using serums. Ever since, I started using this trick, I find my hair less greasy and can skip a few days without shampooing which will lead to my #4 trick.

4. Shampoo less often

I know that some people shampoo their hair everyday. That’s so bad for your hair because what you are doing is you are just stripping all the natural oils from your hair which will only lead to producing more to compensate the loss. So, skipping a day or two wouldn’t hurt. For me, I shampoo my hair every 2 days, I know I’m so dirty but that’s the best thing I can do for my damaged hair.

5. Shampoo you hair twice

While skipping a few days to shampoo, shampooing your hair twice whenever you do it. The first time, it will get rid of all the dirt and junks and the second time, it will make your hair so soft and smooth. Because I don’t shampoo my hair too often, I always shampoo my hair twice whenever I do it and I find my hair producing less oils since then.

6. Use oils

Yes! You read it right. Every once in a while, using oil treatments are really great for your hair. Because your hair is already oily and your ends are as damaged, you might not need it however if your ends are like super damaged like me, it’s best that you do it. Use argan oils or olive oils and apply it all over your hair overnight and shampoo it the next day. It gives the special treatment that your ends need while giving a break for your hair to produce oils.

7. Use a Dry Shampoo

This is kind of  obvious but it’s still a very great way to prevent oily hair.It’s very convenient and easy to use, whether you are rushed in the morning or have somewhere to go after gym however you have to be careful of the white residues it may leave.

Bonus: Wear a Messy Bun or a hat

When you really don’t have a choice or the time. It’s best to put your hair up in a messy bun or wear a beautiful hat and you will be ready to head out.

Disclaimer: I am not a hair care expert nor do I claim to be one. Those tricks are what worked for me and are all based on my experiences.

I hope it was helpful and useful for you in some ways. If you guys enjoyed it, make sure to like, follow and share it with your friends and family. Also, don’t forget to follow me on Instagram for more updates from me.

What are your favorite ways to prevent oily hair? Let me in know in the comments box below.

Hope you all have a wonderful week ahead. ❤

 

 

8 thoughts on “7 Tricks to Prevent Oily Hair

Leave a Reply

